eTTL interface

I want to build a flash interface for my Canon XSi camera.  Unfortunately, it is Canon, which means it is a proprietary interface.  There is some information that has been found on the web and it is a very good starting point:

http://81.216.246.116/e/ettl/

For now I’m tapping into the communication by opening up my shoe cord adaptor instead of trying to build a hot-shoe adaptor myself.  Here’s a picture of the internal connections of the Canon off-camera shoe cord 2. 

img_2543

 The connections are blue: “X” or flash, white: “CLK” from the camera, green: “D1” or data from flash, red: “ID”,  black: “D2” or data from camera, and the braided wire is the ground reference.  I took a picture of the CLK waveform as it starts after I do a pre-focus:

img_2544

This is the leading operation of the CLK pin with a Canon XSi and Speedlite 580ex.  The CLK starts out at 0 volts and has a High of 4.6v and a signal low of 2.1v.  It looks like there is about 80ms between bytes of data (the smaller blips down to 2.1v).  If true, then this means we have plenty of time to analyze the received bytes and even send their data over the slower USB Serial connection.

Here is a close up of the clock chain for one byte of data transfer (one of those blips in the previous picture).  The clock as shown has a period of ~9.6usec, which is ~104KHz.  Measuring all 8 clocks; the average is 9.5usec per clock cycle.  The levels looks like we could use a comparator against 3.3v to determine “0” and “1” of the clock and another comparator with about 1.5 v to detect active clock or communication.

img_2545

The following picture has an example of the data from the flash + clock.  The data only transitions betweens 2.1v and 3.1v.  The voltage swing is probably limited by the battery in the flash which I measured to only be 4.5v (4 AA batteries = ~6v).  The other web site reported D1 swinging between 3.7 and 2.2.

img_25471

Now to go  build an Arduino interface circuit.  This protocol looks doable with Arduino with a little bit of hardware support – at least for sniffing the traffic.   It also looks possible to output the data bytes in real-time through the USB serial port.  To actually create an alternative flash will first take some studying of the traffic while changing different parameters (both camera and flash).  Second, I’ll have to come up with additional circuitry to do the level shifted outputs.

update.. march 5th:

I built a translation circuit for the Arduino.  I had an old LM339 comparator that I knew was fast enough for the purpose and with 7 resistors it was everything I needed.

opamp

I selected v1 = 2.6v, v2 = 1.5v.  I wrote a simple program for the Arduino to sample the bytes of data on both D1 and D2.  The program used interrupt on rising edge of CLK’.  “active” was needed to determine when I was in a commication window.

Here is a sampling of the data that occurred right after a cold start of the XSi camera (aka, I pushed the shutter button all the way when the camera was shutdown and the flash happened).  I haven’t captured data after the “X” pin is set to zero.  Counter to the other web’s information, I see a “8C” versus “86” acknowledgement byte from the flash.

D1 D2 with some translation:

 

8C FF
8C BD set zoom
AA 00
59 28
00 99
FF FF
8C B7 aperture
CC 4C
8C B9 camera mode
00 80
8C BD set zoom
18 00
61 20
32 FB flash mode
02 FF
8C F9 status
74 FF
8C B3 unknown
00 03
00 46
00 2F
00 F5 anoter status
53 FF
49 FF
5C FF
0F FF
00 BE ???
8C 20
8C BB ISO 400
00 58
00 FF
8C FF
9C A5 ???
CC 4C
8C B9 camera mode
00 80
8C BD set zoom
18 00
69 28
32 FB flash mode
02 FF
8C F9 status
54 FF
8C B3 unknown
00 13
00 46
00 2F
00 F5 snother status
53 FF
49 FF
5C FF
0F FF
00 BE ???
8C 20
8C BB ISO 400
00 58
00 FF
8C B3 unknown
00 13
00 46
00 2F
00 B7 aperture
8C 2D
 
March 6th update:
I reformed the output from Arduino to what seems to be messages.
 https://billgrundmann.files.wordpress.com/2009/03/cold_start_flash_taken1.docx
 
March 8th update:
I’ve done two things: 1) I’m using putty.exe as an interface to arduino.  It lets me log all of the messages. 2) I wrote a separate C++ program on windows to process the putty logs and reduce the total messages to the unique messages.  Since the messages from the camera are highly redundant, I needed to reduce it down to just those that are unique.  I can then sample different camera/flash switches to see what changes.  For instance, I now have the complete shutter speed and aperture numbers and their correspondence to the camera settings.
 
fstop
 
I also have the 54 entry shutter timing information.  I’ve written the C++ processing program to start to convert the camera/flash messages to english statement.  I’ll continue to see how the different camera/flash options show up in the messages.
 
 
Stay tuned…
Tags: , , ,

One Response to “eTTL interface”

  1. Strobit Triggr and Canons E-TTL » Everything Robotics…….and then some Says:

    […] https://billgrundmann.wordpress.com/2009/03/04/ettl-interface/ […]

Leave a Reply

